Sticky Gingerbread

gingerbreadIt is time. Time for The Secret Recipe Club. Quickly becoming one of my favorite parts of the month. It all starts off when I receive my assignment. This month’s task was to find a recipe at the lovely blog Foodness Gracious¬†(which by the way, absolutely love the title, how clever!). I always start out by scrolling through the recipes and writing a list of potentials. As usual, my list was long, I finally decided on the Sticky Gingerbread. I am so glad I did because I have fallen in love, in love with Gingerbread! I usually make the obligatory gingerbread boys at Christmas but this was different, melt in your mouth, pure deliciousness! I am already to make it again, and I haven’t even washed the pan from the first batch. Gingerbread is not just for Christmas anymore! Thank you so much Gerry for this fabulous recipe!

  • ¬†1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 2 tsps ground ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 4oz butter
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp molasses
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 egg

1. Place butter, brown sugar and molasses, in saucepan and cook over medium heat until butter is melted and mixture is combined.

2. Remove from heat and stir in the flour, ginger , and cinnamon. Stir in beaten egg.

3. Warm the milk and add baking soda. Add to mixture in your saucepan.

4. Pour mixture into a loaf pan that has been lined with parchment paper and greased.

5. Bake at 300 degrees for one hour.

6. This will be the hardest part, leave for 1 day to let the flavors melt.

7. Serve with butter, and eat and enjoy!


21 responses

  1. I think Jerry is hilarious and I love the title of his blog. A good gingerbread is good anytime of year.

  2. I love gingerbread and yours looks great! You picked a great one for SRC.

  3. Yayy, the gingerbread is a favorite of mine since my mom would make it when I was a kid. I’m glad it worked out for you and it looks awesome, thanks for the kind words! Glad to have found your blog also :)
    Take care..and thanks Eliot ;)

  4. I love gingerbread cookies so I will have to try this bread out for a breakfast treat!

  5. I haven’t had gingerbread in ages, this sounds wonderful! I think I can smell it from here!

  6. Oh I absolutely love gingerbread! I need this for a snack right now!

  7. Jamie….I love gingerbread and am happy to eat it any time of the year! Yours looks moist and beautiful! What a great SRC pick! : )

  8. I love gingerbread any time of year. One question though, is 1/2 cup of flour correct?

    1. Oh thanks for noticing the typo, supposed to be 1 1/2 cups, I have fixed it!

  9. I adore gingerbread and to think of it as sticky? Pure joy. Great pick!

  10. I love gingerbread, and I can’t wait to try this recipe!

  11. this sounds like something I could enjoy for breakfast!

  12. It’s my favorite time of the month also. Although i’m not a sweet fan I am a ginger fan so I want to try this, sounds so yummy!

  13. Gingerbread is always great…but STICKY gingerbread sounds even better!

  14. I made this for SRC in December and you’re right–It is amazing! One of my favorite bread recipes!

  15. This quickbread makes me quiver with excitement? Sticky = so much tastier :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  16. Stumbled onto your blog via the blog hop and just wanted to show you some blog luv! def enjoyed this post :) new follower!

    http://infinitelifefitness.com

    http://mscomposure.blogspot.com

  17. After the holidays I forget how much I adore gingerbread, thanks for the kick in the pants, your cake looks delicious.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A’ SRC entry: Broiled Sushi.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  18. kellyspinkapron | Reply

    Visiting you thorough the blog hop. Looks delicious. Even though I know gingerbread can exist as bread/cake I always think of it as cookies only so it’s fun to see this version. It looks very moist and full of flavor.

  19. [...] Best Baking- Not only is this my favorite baking of the month, it is one of my new favorite foods of all time. Especially warmed up with melted butter. Yum. Go try it now, you don’t have to even finish reading this post, you can come back to it later! You need to make this amazing Sticky Gingerbread! [...]

Leave a Reply

