Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos

NachosAs I have started my blog I have noticed that we eat a lot of pizza. I have a movie night every Friday with my kids when their dad is a work, and apparently pizza has been our go-to movie food. Funny the things you notice when you start writing down what you eat. I decided to shake things up a bit with another great eat in front of the T.V food, Nachos. This recipe was very tasty but it was really messy to eat! So maybe not in front of the T.V next time, but we all had fun.

Original Recipe found at Allrecipes

  •   2 cloves garlic, crushed
  •   6 green onions, sliced, white parts and tops separated
  •   3 tablespoons canola oil
  •   1 shredded, cooked, whole chicken breast
  •   salt and pepper to taste
  •   1 cup salsa
  •   1/2 (12 ounce) package tortilla chips
  •   1 (8 ounce) package shredded Cheddar/Monterey Jack cheese blend
  •   1/2 large tomato, diced

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Cook garlic and white parts of green onions in oil until tender and fragrant, stir in chicken until coated with leftover oil. Stir in salsa.

3. Layer chips with cheese, salsa mixture and tomato.

4. Bake for about 10 minutes until all the cheese has melted. Top with green onions.

movie night To make a spicier version use hot salsa, add taco seasonings to chicken when cooking and top with pickled jalepenos.

5 responses

  1. I know most people get nachos at a restaurant as an appetizer. For me they are a meal! These look wonderful! (And I love the addition of chicken instead of the usual ground beef). What a great idea for movie night! : )

  2. Ha! How delicious and maybe even a tad healthier than ‘zah! 😉
    It’s so great that you have a movie night every friday with you kids! I think that such things are very important for them.

    Cheers,
    Tobias

  3. They look delicious! I love movie night! What a fun thing to do with the kids and a fun meal to have!

  4. This is right up my alley – Megan form Zest Bite gave me a craving to cook Mexican this week so I am going do Chicken Burritos. This will need to go on my list for a Friday/Saturday night meal – looks delicious.

  5. I agree with Anne, nachos are a meal for me. This looks fantastic!

Leave a comment