Clone of a Cinnabon

partaking of the yumminessIf you have been reading my previous posts you may have noticed a small obsession I have with Allrecipes.com I mean seriously every recipe you could ever want is on this one site. I mean don’t get me wrong I LOVE my cookbooks, recipe magazines and the classic family “hand me downs”, but the majority of my recipes come from this one huge internet site. This is one of their most popular recipes, with over 160,000 votes and still a 5 star rating! And just in case you are wondering, it really does taste like a cinnabon, just make sure you don’t over cook it!

Clone of a Cinnabon by Marsha Fernandez at Allrecipesrolled dough

  •  1 cup warm milk
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/3 cup margarine, melted
  • 4 1/2 cups bread flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons bread machine yeast
  •  1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened

  Icing

  • 1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  •  1/4 cup butter, softened
  •  1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  •  1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  •  1/8 teaspoon salt

1. Place first 6 ingredients in bread machine in order suggested by manufacturer (usually liquids first, then dry, yeast last).Choose dough cycle.

2. When dough has finished, remove from bread machine and place on a floured surface big enough to roll out. Cover with tea towel and let rest for 10 minutes.

3. Roll out into a 16×21 rectangle, spread with 1/3 cup softened butter.cooked rolls

4. Mix brown sugar and cinnamon together and evenly sprinkle on butter layer.

5. Roll up and cut into 12 pieces.

6. Place in greased 13×9 pan and cover. Let rise in warm spot for 30 minutes.

7. Preheat oven to 350 and bake for about 15 minutes, or until lightly browned.

8. Mix remaining ingredients for icing with hand mixer and spread on warm rolls.

8 responses

  1. I tasted this and thought I had gone straight to heaven!!!! How wonderful to be related to such a fabulous cook! (And a beautiful one too!)

  2. Is there ANYTHING as good as a Cinnabon? I’m so ready to give this recipe a go. It looks amazing.I’ve used allrecipes.com in the past, but haven’t been there in a long, long time. As it is, I could make a recipe every hour for the rest of my life and not go through all the ones I want to try. ::sigh:: Considered this added to the list (but bumped up near the top). 🙂

  3. I am the same way. I have so many “I want to try that” recipes, I will never get through them all. PLus I am always looking through cook books and finding more! Glad this one got bumped to the top, it is one of my absolute favorites!

  4. Aw man, I LOVE cinnamon buns. There is something so comforting about warm cinnamon. Topping it with sweet icing makes it even better. Yum 🙂

  5. Wow! Very tempted to try that. Have already added it to “Favorites” so I can access it later.

  6. What a darling picture of your daughter! I love allrecipes.com too, so many great recipes. The cinnabon clones looks like no exception. What a treat!

  7. I made this today and they were fantastic! My family loved them, thanks for posting them.

    1. So glad you liked them! They are a family favorite here!

Leave a comment